Thursday, October 30, 2008

The mystery of the clogged toilet - SOLVED!

Well, looky what we found...FINALLY!

Ok, Max...no flushing anything else down the toilets, right??



Ok, so many people know (especially if you've visited us in the past 5-6 months) that Max went through a phase that he liked to throw objects in the toilet and flush it before I could run in and retrieve them. Most of the time the item went bye bye to icky toilet land and that was that.

Well, at one point we only had 2 of our 4 toilets working. We'd fix one and then he'd plug up another one. It was enough to make you scream. Now we have those obnoxious child proof door knobby things so that he can't go into the bathrooms unless we open the door for him.

Anyway, he threw something down the main floor bathroom back in June or so and the freaking toilet has been plugged ever since. We plunged the crap out of it (pun intended), Brad broke 2 snakes on it, he even took it into the garage 3 times to try to figure out what the deal was. Well, finally before breaking down and buying a new toilet...Brad took it out to the garage 1 last time and happened to catch a glimpse of something...

The culprit... One word...EW!!

This was a lid to a toy he had in the living room and when he flushed it, it just happened to wedge itself just right so that it clogged anything and everything flushed. Nice.

Needless to say...it promptly got tossed and I think I made Brad wash his hands about 10 times after finding it. YUCK!

But, thankfully...we have 4 toilets working again! Yeeehaw!

Wednesday, October 29, 2008

Punkins!!!

Miles & Maxwell waiting for the Great Pumpkin!  :)
Ah, brotherly love...until Max started trying to push Miles out of the wagon!  LOL
Mama & her little ones
Papa and smiley Moes
 
Papa & the boys

Just love that little guy!  He's my punkin!
Max checkin' out the goats and sheep at the petting zoo at Pahls (pumpkins and zoo animals...odd combo, but it was a fun surprise!)
Miles not afraid to touch the stinky animals!

After dropping off Mike at work, we went to go pick out our pumpkins at Pahls Market in Apple Valley.  Like last year, it was a great photo opp (like I need a special setting!  Oh look...Max lifted up his pinkie...let's take a pic!) and we got some good carving pumpkins.  I'm thinking this year may be a lot of fun or a big disaster as Max likes to "do it".  "Mama, I try!...Mama, I do it!".

The petting zoo was new...unless we didn't notice it last year.  Anyways, it was basically a small fenced enclosure of a few goats and sheep and some turn machines with food.  Max wanted no part of the actual feeding part, but he liked the food dispensers and putting the quarter in them.  Miles enjoyed the animals and tried to grab them with both hands.  I put my germ phobias aside and enjoyed the moment.  And then thoroughly washed their hands afterwards.  ick.

After their baths tonight we watched the Charlie Brown Halloween special tivo'd from last night.  Max liked it despite the animation was Pixar (these crazy Tivo generation toddlers!).  I'm sure I'll have some fun pictures after our pumpkin carving party later this week.  Mike wanted to carve one this year, so we'll probably do it Thursday night since he's busy studying for quarter finals this week.

Tuesday, October 28, 2008

Big boy Maxwell!

The "twins" getting ready for Miles' Dr visit
Here we go...
Hopefully he continues to look this happy as we start this adventure of Potty Training!

OMG, are we really doing this??!  Eeks!

Well, I told myself that we'd start to potty train when we returned from Mexico and tonight Max was running around in his diaper complaining that it was "too tight" after I had readjusted it for him like 8 times.  So, I said, "well, if you want to go potty in the big boy potty, you won't have to be bothered with diapers anymore!"  and then asked him if he wanted to take his diaper off and try to go potty.  He said, "Ya, potty!" and then started running around.  I figured he was just repeating me...but he kept asking for the potty...so I went upstairs and got it and set him on it.  I could tell he didn't feel all too comfortable on it because he kept scooting back for more support under his butt...but I think he started to get used to it.  He kept jumping up and would point to something at the TV or tell he he was "potty".  Crazy kid...sit your butt down before you pee on my floor!  LMAO!

No pee pee...but he did sit in it (well, kind of) for about 7 minutes or so...which for Mr "on the run"...that was a long time!  We'll resume tomorrow our Mama and Me class.  Stay tuned on updates.

Here's a funny Max story:
Last night he was in "loopy tired" mode and was running all around being silly, so I put his hooded sweatshirt on his head and called him, "Super Max" and told him to run.  So, he did.  Then I told him to hold his arms up in the air and showed him what to do (like he was flying like Superman) and he did.  So he was running around the house w/ the hooded sweatshirt on his head and his arms up in the air (not exactly out like he was flying...but more like he was on a roller coaster...lol) and I'm yelling, "Suuuuper Maxxxx!....Suuuper Maaaax!".  It was a sight.  I would have grabbed my camera...but he would have stopped and he was too cute doing it.  Today he told me he was "sup'r Mox".  He's a hoot!

Miles - 9 mo Well Baby Appt

Miles and his latest fad of sticking his tongue out

What a face!

Silly "Moes"!

Miles had his 9 month pediatritian appointment today. As always...everything looks good! Dr. H says he's perfect!

Stats:
Weight:  17lbs 8oz (11th %tile - Dr said no worries)
Height:  29inches (82nd %tile - big boy!)
HC:  17inches (7th %tiles - what can I say...I make peanut heads!)

Miles has had a wierd rash that kind of comes and goes and spreads in his diaper area and on his face and she told us to try Lotrimin.  The Dr we last saw about it about 2 months ago though it might be a little excema from a food allergy, but our regular Ped thought it might be more of a yeast or fungal rash, so hopefully we'll see some type of improvement within the next week, or we'll consult with a dermatologist.  He isn't bothered by it in any way, but I just don't want it to get out of control especially since I don't know what it is.  Not cool for a type A kinda mama.

Other than that...he's perfect in everyway.  Just an absolute joy and so sweet.  He smiles all the time and I can't get enough of his giggles.  He must have really practiced his crawling while we were gone because he zooms so fast.  I really have to watch the little dude!

Part of my favorite moments with him is when I put him down for his naps and for bed.  He almost collapses in my arms as soon as I get his blankey and turn off the light.  He just lays his head on my shoulder and and sing or hum to him.  Lately it's been the ABC song since it's in my head from working w/ Max on his letters.  It's funny because he'll go limp and I'll stop singing and then he'll go, "Mmmmm"...as if to say...keep on, sista!  He's just the sweetest little cuddler!

I was worried when I got that percentage of his weight back, but Dr H said not to worry.  She said Mama and Papa are both thin and that he looks healthy and givin that he's soo long...he doesn't look under weight at all and since he's eating..he's fine.  She said he looks perfectly proportioned and he is healthy and most kids have weight that fluctuates.  He might be starting a growth spurt soon too.  (So, I don't want to get the 3rd degree from any Grands...HE IS FINE!  ;)

Miles had 2 shots and a finger prick to check his hemoglobin levels.  (1 shot was the flu shot) and he barely cried and stopped almost immediately when I picked him up.  Brad came with us and even he was surprised at how little he cried.  Miles is a little trooper!

I decided to get Max a flu shot since we were there since he'll be exposed to lots of ickys this winter and he seems to be so suseptable to bronchial infections.  He was not pleased.

Next Ped appointment for Miles is 12 months.  Wow!

Monday, October 27, 2008

Mexico - The Bellows Wedding!

The beautiful bride (Kristin), Groom (my handsome cousin, Andy), and some of the Bellows clan

Cousin Bryan and his FAVORITE cousin! :)

Uncle Dave...my Godfather and the father of the groom

Kristin, B, and myself



The wedding was beautiful and love filled the air! (blech...how cheezy was that?!) No, it was a short but sweet ceremony and the bride and groom looked fabulous! It rained...but it was still wonderful! We had a great time and enjoyed celerating another Bellows union!

I took over 600 pictures and about 18 videos during the week long stay, so I'll be busy busy busy trying to compile it all in a nice DVD for the bride and groom. It should be a fun project...now if only I can find the time to do it! :)

Am I glad to be home?? Are you kidding me?! It took everything within me not to burst into my boys' bedrooms and attack them with kisses!! I couldn't wait to see all 3 of them!!

Mexico - Love is in the air!

Ahhh...the beach! (Don't mind my poochy tummy! ha ha...had to say that!)





Visiting Chicken Itza






Smooching at the Wedding!





Ain't my hubby handsome??!



Celebrating 9 years of wonderful marriage!!














Our last night out before returning home




We had a great time in Mexico, the wedding was beautiful, and it was a perfect 9 year anniversary! It was really great to be able to spend some quality time with my husband without the usual distractions from our beautiful boys, and annoyances from our businesses. Sleeping in was fantastic, food was much more impressive than our Caribbean Cruise a few years ago, and the weather was perfect (if you don't mind rain every day!...no, but actually we got plenty of beach time, and the rain allowed for us to relax in our room and sleep in/nap on some days without feeling too guilty about not being outside!).

It was exciting to be present a the start of a new union...and to be celebrating 9years of our own!!

Congrats, Andy & Kristin...we love you! May you enjoy this new depth of friendship, love, and passion....Ole Ole Ole!!







Mexico - The sights

The view from our balcony

Chicken Itza Mayan Ruins


A rainy night...one of the many


A view that we'll miss!



The sights were beautiful and I'm sure I'll be looking at them many many nights during the long MN winter that we are about to dive into. Did it seriously just snow for the 1st time this season yesterday??! What the??!

Anyways...we enjoyed the beach plenty (got rained on a few times), spent a day with the 3 amigos (Bob, Dwight, and Charlie), visited some of the Mayan ruins (got rained on) and had lunch at a Mayan restaurant (YUM!), went on a romantic Lobster dinner cruise for our anniversary evening (Can you believe we didn't get rained on!), and spent the rest of the time eating....burp, oh excuse me!

Oh, and my Spanish has improved 10 fold...well, no...not actually. I think the phrase I used most was, "NO GRACIAS!!!" to the intraverted and shy street vendors. Ha ha!

Friday, October 10, 2008

The little ones

Awwww....so cute together!


Look at me, Mama, I'm getting to be such a big boy!



The past few days Max has really started to pay attention to Miles. It's so funny how he ignored him for so long. Last night during their bath, Miles was screeching and playing and Max thought it was pretty funny so he'd mimick the noises Miles was making. It was pretty cute. Then Miles was looking down at the toys in the water and Max got his face really close to him to try to get Miles to look back at him...and Miles didn't, so Max started to turn Miles head toward him. Silly boys!

Max definitely has his moments when he is not willing to share Mama or Papa...but more and more he's starting to try to engage with his little brother. :)

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Bath time!




Lastly...here are some pictures of the 2 little ones during bath time over the past few weeks.
Miles has graduated from the baby bathtub and so the little ones bath together.  It's so cute to watch them!

Max Update - October 2008

This picture sums up Max...he's a fireball!
He used to be scared of the shower...but this week he ventured in the shower with me and now it's a must ever time I shower.  Hmmm...maybe I shouldn't have encouraged this!  My showers USED to be my guaranteed "me" time!  LOL
Silly shower boy!
Max looking like a big boy laid out on the couch.
 
Max hosting a "gold fish" party with cousin, Gracie from FL!
Max...Max...Max!
What can I say?!  This one keeps me on my toes and keeps me laughing just as much!
He is so much fun and definitely a TWO year old!
Wow, he's really changing daily and every day he picks up a few new words or even teaches me something new about himself.  He's wonderful and it's so fun to look at the world through 2 year old glasses!
Here are some of his most recent common phrases:
"Go seep!" (go sleep - and he says this while pointing at me...so demanding!)
"More Apple Juice Peese"
"Where'd Papa go, Mama?"
"I home!"
"Mama, I try!"
"No crying"
"Sucker Peese?!!!" (suckers are special treats he gets when he gets his haircut, but his papa has snuck him a few on occassion...those papas!
"All done"
"I help, Mama"
I know there are lots more, but I can't think right now.
We've been practicing our letters, colors, and animal sounds lately.  His favorite letters are, "H", "O", and "I" for some reason.  He points them out in signs when he sees them.  Hearing him make animal sounds is hilarious!

Max is pretty much under me all day.  He loves for me to involve him in things whether it be cleaning, or cooking...anything really.  He just likes to feel like he's helping.  He's so independant, yet doesn't like to play alone still.

He's getting better about Miles.  Within the past few weeks he will occassionally talk to him or hand him a toy or his binkie...or take one away with a , "No, baby!  My car!"...it will be nice when they are old enough to play together.  Miles just adores Max and smiles at him all the time.  Max thinks its funny when Miles is screeching...so he likes to join in.  That makes for a lovely dinner time.  :)

Max and I are going to ECFE "2's and 3's class" every Wednesday for 2 hours.  This was our 4th week.  We have playtime together, then circle time with the group when we sings songs and listen to a story, then snack and parent time (and the kids play).  Well, Max is still not too fond of seperating.  The 1st week he cried the entire parent time, the 2nd week he was held by one of the teachers the entire time and only cried initally, and last week and this time he cried initially...calmed down after briefly being held by a teacher and then stood in one spot for the remainder of the time (that's my stubborn boy!).  Every week I see him enjoying the time more and more...so hopefully he'll start playing with the other kids soon.

He's my little errand buddy...he loves to go "bye bye" with Papa or me.  I usually go grocery shopping or run errands with Max when Miles is napping and Brad is working from home.  It's nice to get the one on one time with him.

I've been off and on struggling with meal time with Max and I thought he just didn't want to be bothered with food, but a little over a week ago we stopped giving him a sippy cup to run around the house with.  I bought him cute little monster plates and cups and have him drink from a cup that we keep at the table for him and he started eating better.  We realized that he was filling up on liquids from keeping his sippy full, rather than eating.  DUH!  I can't believe it didn't hit me sooner!

Anyway...although there are moments that I would love to ring this little boy's neck...he is my little monkey and he keeps me laughing every day!  I couldn't ask for more and I wouldn't change him!

Miles Update - October 2008

Looking so much like his big brother...nothing like a baby sleeping so sweetly!
Peek-a-boo Mama!
Silly little boy!
This one loves to wrinkle up that nose!
 
Where'd Mama go?!
Hello?!  Is anybody there?!  (This is Miles' newest trick...anything goes up to the ear like it's a phone)

Ever the happy sweet baby!
My gosh...well, my boys are growing like weeds!  Miles is just as sweet as can be and so cuddly still.  I just love it!
He's been army crawling for about a month and a 1/2, but about a week ago he started crawling regularly SOMETIMES.  He seems to prefer army crawling because he's mastered it and he FLYS across the room!  I really have to watch him because he really moves.  Gone of the days are being able to sit him down and go do something really quickly!
He's babbling more and more.  It's really nice (because he was so quiet for so long...but who can blame him.  It's hard to get a word in with Max around!) until the screeching starts!  LOL!  He says, "Maaaamamama" and "Dadadada" mostly right now.  He plays a game of back and forth weather it's a hummm noise or a pretend cough.
He started self feeding about 3 weeks ago and he'd prefer to do that rather than baby food.  He likes Gerber Puffs and Crunchies. 
He has been able to sit up on his own (from lying down) for the past 2 weeks or so, but within the past week he's really doing it well.  It's still pretty funny to look in on his monitor and see that he's sitting up playing in his crib. 
We've finally weened the early morning (between 5-6am) feeding/change and he's sleeping until around 7:30am.  Actually, I think he wakes earlier some days but as long as he can find a binkie...he'll roll around and sit up and play in his crib quietly until around 7:30 or when he hears Max get up.
Naps are still great...and he's on a great schedule.  He's such a good little guy!  He's definitely a mama's boy and he's good until he sees me and then he darts for me to hold him.  He plays really well by himself for longer durations when I'm not in the room.
He loves being read and sung to.  I don't have much of a voice...but he still loves it!
All in all...he's a complete joy and has a beautiful disposition!!

***OMG, I almost forgot!!  He FINALLY broke his 1st tooth today!!  I've been waiting and waiting and finally one appeared.  The lower left front tooth...yeah!