As you can tell from my lack of posts lately...I've been busy. The kids continue to grow and learn new things...but I'm enjoying them rather then having the time to blog about them. Hopefully things will slow down soon so I can continue to chronicle all of their new adventures. They definitely keep us entertained!
Brad, Max, and I are up north with our neighbors (Michelle, Tom, Brandon, Kyle and Dave, Lauren, Anne, and Lauren's friend) for a week of relaxation, boating, and fun. We arrived on Saturday and so far it's been a bit muggy and rainy, but last night the humidity dropped...the rain stopped...and now it's just beautiful. We are looking forward to some boating and water time today.
Since Max gets up at the crack of dawn...we are trying to be quiet while the rest of the house is still sleeping. I'm updating this and Max is playing with my iPhone. (Which by the way...might very well be one of the best inventions besides sushi!...But that's a whole notha post! :)
Here are some quick updates.
Mike: Starts his Senior year in a matter of weeks. We have his Senior pictures scheduled for the Monday after we return. I haven't seen the official grade for his summer class at Inver Hills, but we think it's either a B+ or an A. I'm so proud of all his effort and hard work in school and with his PACE classes. He's been touring a lot of colleges in the surrounding areas and we are trying to narrow down where he wants to go. I think so far the U of M is highest on his list. He takes the ACT in mid September. He has yet to get his drivers license, but he's scheduled to take the test in early September. Although it will be nice to have him be able to drive himself to work, friends, and run occassional errands for his mama...it makes me nervous to have him on the roads surrounded by stupid other drivers. :) This will be a big year for Mike!
Max: This kid never ceases to amaze me. His vocabulary trips me out daily. The other day he was trying to tell me something and was getting tongue tied and frustrated and finally he just signed really big and said, "Oh...I just can't take it anymore!". He's a crack up. Yesterday Michelle and I had a few things we needed to get at the store so Max came with us and found a little car he wanted. Well, he accidently dropped it in the lake and was so upset. I had to go back to the store for some other things, so Brad and I brought him along so he could try to find a replacement car. We had to run another errand before going to the store and so he thought we weren't going to find him a car and he was getting upset, so I told him we were on the way to go find him a new car and he goes, "Oooohh YESSSSSS...Oh, Thank you mama!"...he's so animated! In other news he's doing awesome in his potty training. This week away from home and our regular routine may be a little set back?? But, I'm really proud of him. Last Monday (a week ago) I just decided to do away with the pull ups because they are so much like diapers that the potty training seemed to be going no-where. Since he has to be trained before pre-school starts this fall...I was starting to get nervous. So, I put him in big boy underwear and had him go potty every few hours and I think he was accident free all day. Day2 he had a few accidents...but he quickly learned that he doesn't like that feeling of getting wet. Since then he has had a few accidents here and there, but for the most part...tells us when he has to go potty. Going poo-poo seemed to still be a challenge until I explained to him that he was going to get his race car (or whatever character he was wearing) on his undies dirty and suddenly he started telling me when he had to go. I'm really very proud of him!
Miles: Now this little dude has been the biggest surprise in personality. He's always been very mild mannored and sweet, but now as he is starting to expand on his small vocabulary...he's starting to throw some curve balls at us! He's still a little sweet peanut...but man, the little dude has a temper! If he gets really upset he lets you know...he'll grab your face or even try to hit you. It's kind of funny cuz he's so tiny. Max has always been demanding of our attention and I think Miles is trying to assert his place in the family. LOL! Other than that...he's a ham just like his big brother. Naturally Papa and I think our little guys have a heightened sense of humor, but I really think they do! Ha ha. Miles loves to dance and loves music or any programs with singing in it. He just gets mezmorized by them. Right now his favorite TV program is High Five. Papa, Uncle Rob and I can't stand the show...but the little guys love it and it usually buys us 20 minutes to get things done around the house or to get dinner going. Miles' vocab isn't too large yet...but it's ever growing. The other day he grabbed Max's blanket (go go) and said "Go go"...Max and I just looked at each other like, "wow...he talked!". It's funny because he knew Max's blanket was "Go go", yet he calls his own special blanket his, "Blankey" (bankie). Like Max, he likes to make us laugh and does silly things to get us going. He's just a little charmer!
I could go on...but Max has had about enough of being quiet and Mama being distracted w/ this computer...so off to play with him I go!
Mike didn't want to come on vaca with us and it would have been to difficult with Miles' schedule to bring him along...so we left them at home with Grandma Donna and Uncle Rob. I miss my little dude something fierce, but I know he's having fun with Grandma D. Ok...have to go before Max turns off the computer on me
!! :) Who knows...maybe I'll get another post in during our week long vaca???