We seem to have gained a furry little friend who is living under our deck. I've seen it hopping around in the early evenings for the past few nights. Max started hollaring as he was looking out the window last night and sure enough our little bunny friend was eating grass outside our window. Max thought this was pretty neat.
Actually...when I say "hollaring"...I mean that quite literally. He has come to the realization that if he screams at the highest pitch possible...it scares the begeezus out of our poor cat and he takes off. This amuses Max, however...it's a catch 22 because then he is mad that the cat isn't around to "play" with. Needless to say...the cat seems to only be coming upstairs during nap time and after Max is in bed lately. LOL!
As for little Miles...wow, he's such a treat! He is such a mild mannored baby and so happy. We really don't even have to do anything to elicite a smile from this little one. And he's starting to giggle a little lately...which is the sweetest thing. It honestly makes me teary when he does it. It's a bit embarassing in public. Yesterday we all ran to Barnes and Knoble to look for some books and one of the employees stopped to coo at Miles and he smiled. I have to play down the tears of joy...if only I could hand them a sheet of paper that would explain the price we paid to get these two little joys. :)
Speaking of "paying"...our hospital/medical bills are pouring in lately. It's quite stressful...but I just have to remind myself that they were worth every penny! Because they are!!
I've been really busy this week working on getting Miles on more of a nap routine and trying to push back Max's 11am nap to 1pm. 11am is a little early as he gets overtired in the evenings and I've read that later afternoon naps are more restorative for them. It's been a little bit challenging because he has been only napping for about 1 1/2 -2 hours lately and he really needs closer to a 3 hour nap. For Miles I am trying to get him into the 9am and then 1pm nap (napping 2 hours each). He's been doing really well with it. It's actually been harder on me because in order to keep him on his schedule...I need to wake up around 7 or 7:30am with him. And when your sleep is fragmented during the night due to night feedings...it's really hard to force yourself up that early. Once we get the routine set...it will be nice as both the boys will nap at 1pm giving me a little free time to take a nap myself or get some things done around the house. Fortunately Miles is such an easy going baby...that I've had to actually wake him from some of his naps to keep him on schedule. Hopefully he'll be ready to cut out at least 1 of his 2 nightly feedings soon. He started waking in between feedings for the binkie, but I've been letting him cry through those the past few nights. Thankfully he doesn't cry long and returns to sleep until it's time for his feeding. He typically goes a 6 1/2 - 7 hour stretch and then another 4 - 4 1/2 hours. It's hard to tell with a breastfed baby if they can go longer or they really need the feeding. I know that at Max's 4 month appointment he was still waking at least 2-3 times a night and our Ped told us it was out of habit. That's when we "Ferberized" him. Hopefully Miles won't need to go through that process...but we'll see. It only took Max 3-4 nights before he took to it and didn't wake for the nightly feedings.
No comments:
Post a Comment