Our family journey started with a single mama and a young boy...and with lots of love, a few Drs, perhaps a few tears, and above all HOPE... Our family is complete. :) This is our journey...
Wednesday, July 23, 2008
Miles 6 Month Well Baby check
Keepin' Cool
Thursday, July 17, 2008
Sandwhich without the filling
I missed little Max terribly and it was so hard for me to see him driving away in the car with Brad...but it was nice to get things done with less inturruptions and also to spend some time completely devoted to little Miles. He doesn't get this very often unfortunately. He's such a good natured, easy going, and patient little boy that he doesn't mind...but it's always nice to give a child devoted one on one time.
Miles was so happy and fun today. He even rolled from his tummy to his back for me twice! And it's funny because he kept his mouth closed like 50% of the time. I know this sounds wierd...but this kid always has his mouth open. He's done it since birth. We noticed immediately because he would sleep with his mouth open. Anyways, it's so funny to see him with his mouth closed...we always tease him and say we don't recognize him when it's closed. Today he was sucking on his lower lip and making the silliest little faces. He's so sweet...I just can't help but kissing his cheeks constantly.
Anyway, Max and Papa are staying in EC over night...this is Max's 1st time away from his own bed since our last trip to Fort Meyers for Bill's memorial when he passed a year ago. I guess he did actually take an hour nap with Brad this afternoon...so hopefully tonight goes as well. I talked to him on the phone today and he was so cute and before we got off the phone when I was telling him that I loved him...he kept saying, "see ya, mama". :)
Oh, yeah...and before they left this morning I came downstairs to pack away a few toys for the car ride and he came downstairs saying, "Maaaammma? Mom? Mom? Maaaammmmaaa?" looking for me. Um, where did the "Mom" come from??! I've always been Mama...even back to the Michael days! LOL! What a silly boy!
Tuesday, July 15, 2008
Lots going on...
Zzzzzoooom!
But, today was worthy of a dedicated post just for him!
After much studying (many many thanks to help from Grandma Bonnie)...Michael passed his permit test and will be hitting the MN roads!! He was grinning ear to ear and I'm so proud of him! Tommorow we'll set up his first behind the wheel session and then he can start driving with one of us. I'm thinking I'll have him start with Brad as Brad is the much more patient parent. I'm too much of a Bellows still. :)
Here's a pic of my big boy and his permit!!
Eeeks, I can't believe my "baby" is soon to be a driver. Oh, AND he received his 1st paycheck today...what a big day!! Where have the years gone??! And am I REALLY that OLD to have a driver and a tax payer??! :)
Saturday, July 5, 2008
Updates
Miles has mastered the art of rolling over this week! He'd been rolling from his back to his tummy (rolling to the right side) every so often for the past month, but now he can roll over quite fast when he wants to. In fact sometimes he does it so fast the momentum keeps him rolling and he'll end up on his back again. It seems like he has just grown like a weed lately. He's so long. And still just a cuddler and charmer. Such a sweet and good little baby. He's sleeping like a pro and still takes 2 good naps (usually 2 hours each) and then at night he goes to bed around 6pm and sleeps until between 3-4am and then nurses and sleeps until around 7:30. He loves to make noises with his tongue...it's really funny. And he smiles every time he sees himself in the mirror.
Max is talking up a storm. This week he said, "Ready...set...GO!". Brad and I say this often when we are playing with him, but have never heard him say all of it...so it was really funny when he said it. It's funny because it seems like every night when Papa and I are starting to drift off to sleep...one of us will tell the other a funny story of something Maxwell said or did that day. What a boy he is...he just LOVES any mode of transportation. In fact, for Easter I got him these plastic Easter eggs that had cars in them. Actually, one egg had a Blues Clues bus, the other had a Dora the Explorer car, and another had a Diego jeep. Anyways, he plays with this bus EVERY day and asks for it every time he goes down for a nap or to bed now. Which is pretty cute...but it makes it quite the game to find this sticking bus before night nights every day! We've started to get smart and try to keep an eye on it and snatch it as soon as he puts it down and then we'll go put it in his crib before he misplaces it. The little boy that used to hate to sit in his car seat now loves to go for rides in the car and he will point out every truck, bus, car, etc that he sees. He's gotten to be my little narrator on the rode. He is very much a Bellows...and quite passionate about whatever he wants for the moment and every much the toddler to let us know when he is angry. I'm just waiting for a Target meltdown, of which I'm sure will happen any day now. You know the scene...the toddler screaming about something in the middle of the isle all while the embarassed mama is rushing to get him out the door. :)
Mike has finished his 1st week of training at the store and happy to be making some money. He won't get his first paycheck until next week, but he's getting his cut of tips for his shifts. Other than that...this week he's been to 2 parties and enjoying his time off of school...although he's already complaining about being bored and sick of being in the house. He's been a great help with the kids and Max loves having him home. Mike usually will give me a break and will take Max down the basement to play and have a snack and I just hear Max whopping it up down there with him.
We've been taking a lot of little videos...I need to get them uploaded and get some on youtube soon. Look for some in the near future!
Chewers con Queso
This story is a few weeks old, but it's still a good one.
So, when I go shopping I usually try to find different snacks for Maxwell to eat in the afternoon. He loves goldfish crackers, but I like to change it up a little. One day I came across those little packs of stick crackers with the cheese that you dip the sticks in and thought he might get a kick out of dipping his cracker into the cheese. Well, he wanted nothing to do with the cheese, but really thought the crackers were neat.
So, one afternoon we are sitting in the great room and he's got his crackers and as normal, just ignoring the cheese part. I'm convinced that he'll like the cheese if he will just give it a try so I'm trying to force a little cheese into his mouth. That alone was a little humorous because I've got him tackled and pinned down and trying to shove this stick of cracker with cheese on it. :) Anyway, the phone rings, so I go to my office to answer it. In comes Max and he's mad and telling me that his cracker has "eeekies (ickys)" on it, so I look down and it's got cat hair on it, so I proceed to brush it off and give it back to him...just assuming he dropped it on the carpet and because it had a little cheese on it, it picked up some cat hair.
I get off the phone and we go into the great room again and are sitting and talking and he's eating his crackers. And then in walks Chewers (the cat). I don't think anything of it until he walks past me and something catches my eye...I look closer and the cat has cheese dip smeared ALL over his back. Max had con queso'd him! OMG...I wish I had taken a picture. It really was a sight to see! What a kid...he is entertainment from the moment he wakes til he goes to sleep...I tell ya!
