Friday, August 1, 2008

GooooOOOOo Vikings!

Because I don't think we can go without complete chaos in our lives...just to add to the mix, we decided to agree to be 1 of 4 exclusive vendors at the Vikings Village in the Vikings Training Camp this year. It's been...well...interesting. One more thing to manage...but so far things are going relatively well. Training camp is for 3 weeks and we are about 1/2 way through.



Thankfully timing was good and our walk-in freezer for the store arrived the week before camp started and we were able to get it installed during the first few days of camp. This made life a little easier to be able to have room to put our coolers after the smoothies were made. It also made it possible to move our reach in freezer down to camp which has kept the smoothies cool during the instense heat and humidity.

Now...getting the reach in freezer down to camp is a story all of its own. My goodness. Let's just say that we thought it would be easy. It was already on wheels...we can just roll it down the road and be done. Um, except for the fact that because it was on wheels...it was about 1/4 inch too high to get out of the front door!! Picture Brad and our manager, Jim, painfully trying to jimmy 2x4's under the freezer to unscrew all 6 wheels and trying to slide it out the door and then putting the wheels back on. Um, ya...this took TWO HOURS!! At one point the freezer was stuck in the doorway and we had to pass our customer's their smoothies between a 3" gap between the door and the freezer. And wouldn't you know it...Viking's Center Matt Birk (#78) shows up with Bollinger (#9) and Hutchinson (#76) to get some double wheat grass shots. Thankfully we know Matt and he didn't seem to mind. I even was able to finagle getting their siggy's on Max's Vik Camp football! Anyway...thankfully we got the dang on freezer out the door and back on it's wheels and the guy rolled it down stadium drive to camp...something you don't see everyday! :)


Here is the view from our tent on the 1st day of camp. Vikings Village opened at 9am...and the rain (and I mean RAIN!!) came at 9:05am...nice! :)
One nice perk was Brad and I got to get on-field access during one of the practices...couldn't get much closer to the players unless you were standing by them.
After the on-field practice...we were treated to a VIP lunch and met the Williams Duo.
Here I am with #94 - Pat Williams (DT)
And me & #93 - Kevin Williams (DT)

Tomorrow night we are invited to another Vikings VIP event and I'm taking my Dad & Uncle Dave. It should be a good time. It's always entertaining to get the Bellows men together!

Anyways...guess we'll be bigger Vikings Fans this year... GOOOOOOoooooo Vikings (hopefully Uncle Rob will never read this! :)

No comments: