Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Reflection




October is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Awareness month.  Every year the mere reminder of this causes me to reflect on what it means to me.

I'd like to say that our 3 year journey and the 5 losses we endured left me unscathed, but that would just be silly... because any person that has suffered the loss of a child (no matter what how far along in pregnancy, or after birth) has been forever changed.  Maxwell and Miles have definitely lifted most of darkness from that journey...but our journey has changed me.

I have 5 little angels that watch over us.  No longer do I let the details of their losses or their due dates take control of my emotions and leave me in dispair, but they are still in my heart.  Those babies are still thought of, missed, and forever loved.

Ironically I watched a movie last night in which the wife had a miscarriage.  She and her husband went to their OB appointment excited to hear their baby's heartbeat...only to hear nothing and ultimately to have the Dr have to tell them "I'm sorry".  The actress captured the range of emotions so well...it brought back all of those horrible appointments and all of those horrible "I'm sorry"s. 

Shame.  Anger.  Numbness.  Dispair.  Frustration.  Darkness.  All feelings that I wouldn't wish on any couple.

Hopefully Ectopic pregnancies will cease to exist.  Hopefully our journey has caused me to appreciate my 3 wonderful boys more.  And Hopefully I'm a better mama because of it. 

This post is dedicated to all the strong women out there that have endured any type of pregnancy or infant loss.  May peace and HOPE be with you....always.

Friday, October 9, 2009

Party in the USA

Ok...Ok...Ok...I dislike Miley as much as the next person, but I was cleaning the kitchen and her song came on Pandora and since the table was pushed to the side...the boys and I decided to have a dance off.  We had so much fun and they wanted to hear the song over and over, so I had to actually download that silly song to my iPhone and we danced it out.

See...cleaning isn't so bad!

Here are some pictures of our Dance off...


Got my hands up...they're playin' my song...


Noddin' my head like, "yeah!"...


Movin' my hips like, "yeah!"



YEAH...it's a party in the USA!!


Tuesday, October 6, 2009

Emma Krumbee's Apple Orchard 10.3.09

Trying to enjoy my favorite time of year and had a brief break from the rain, so we took the boys out to an apple orchard for some family time and picture opps.  We had a great time and although it was a little chilly out...the boys enjoyed the freedom of running around and thought picking their own apples off of trees was pretty cool.

Max enjoying the train ride


Mama and Miles


Miles having fun on the tractor that Max thought was "cool", but was scared to get on


Hmmm...suddenly the tractor didn't look so scary!  A little peer pressure can be good sometimes


Moes cheating in the Rope Maze...he just walked under the ropes.  LOL


It's like pulling teeth to get a picture with these boys.  Even harder to get them to smile in one!


Moes eating the apple he pulled himself.


Mama and Max.  I had to tell him his Papa was a "Poopy pants" in order to get a smile out of him.  Has it come to this really??!


Papa being silly and showing Moe how you REALLY bite into an apple.



Enjoy your fall everyone!

Tuesday, September 29, 2009

Max'n Miles

What a mama's complete joy to be able to watch her kids grow and thrive each and every day. It's amazing to watch them learn and to relive new ideas and concepts through such innocence.

Here are just a few of the things the lil' ones are up to these days:

Miles Talk (20 months):
"Hi hi hi hi hi Five!" (Hi-Five is his favorite show)
"MOM"...he calls me mama sometimes but when he really wants to get my attention he yells MOM!...it's so funny cuz he's so little but has a boomin' voice when he wants to
"Mock" (Mike)
"N' sairs" (downstairs)
"Bankie" (blankie)
"Eat" ...he's a good little eater and will come running to the table when it's time to eat
"ha you" (Max still says "I hold you" when he wants to be held and now Miles is picking up on that. lol)
"HI"...the greeting you get from this little guy is so great! Melts my heart each time!
"ha ha ha"...literally he will laugh with a "ha ha ha" chuckle
"Ahh done!"

He still talks a lot o' gibberish, but he's usually able to communicate what he wants for the most part. He has got quite the personality. He's silly and still such a little cuddler.

Max'isms (3 years, 3 months):
* He'll try to tell me something and if I can't understand him or hear him...If I say, "What?" too may times he'll shake his head and say, "I can't find the words...nevermind".
* He's discovering music and I've caught him trying to beat box and play the air guitar lately. Here are some videos to enjoy:

Max Rockin' the Air Guitar:




DJ Max':



* He's feisty (no idea where it comes from!) and tells me "That's enough" if he does something cute and I ask him to do it again too many times. LOL
* He pats Miles on the head and says, "You're a good boy, Moes"
* Both the lil' ones cup my head in their hands when they are trying to get my attention. It's so cute. (unless their hands are particularly gooey)
* Max asks me, "That make you happy, mama?" all the time
* Yesterday he put his hand on my shoulder during breakfast and he said, "You my best friend, mama"...it was so sweet.
* "Ooooh... (insert something)...Maaah fae-vor-it!"

Good times happenin' all the time in this household... :)

Monday, August 17, 2009

Time Flys

As you can tell from my lack of posts lately...I've been busy.  The kids continue to grow and learn new things...but I'm enjoying them rather then having the time to blog about them.  Hopefully things will slow down soon so I can continue to chronicle all of their new adventures.  They definitely keep us entertained!

Brad, Max, and I are up north with our neighbors (Michelle, Tom, Brandon, Kyle and Dave, Lauren, Anne, and Lauren's friend) for a week of relaxation, boating, and fun.  We arrived on Saturday and so far it's been a bit muggy and rainy, but last night the humidity dropped...the rain stopped...and now it's just beautiful.  We are looking forward to some boating and water time today.

Since Max gets up at the crack of dawn...we are trying to be quiet while the rest of the house is still sleeping.  I'm updating this and Max is playing with my iPhone.  (Which by the way...might very well be one of the best inventions besides sushi!...But that's a whole notha post! :)

Here are some quick updates.

Mike:   Starts his Senior year in a matter of weeks.  We have his Senior pictures scheduled for the Monday after we return.  I haven't seen the official grade for his summer class at Inver Hills, but we think it's either a B+ or an A.  I'm so proud of all his effort and hard work in school and with his PACE classes.  He's been touring a lot of colleges in the surrounding areas and we are trying to narrow down where he wants to go.  I think so far the U of M is highest on his list.  He takes the ACT in mid September.  He has yet to get his drivers license, but he's scheduled to take the test in early September.  Although it will be nice to have him be able to drive himself to work, friends, and run occassional errands for his mama...it makes me nervous to have him on the roads surrounded by stupid other drivers. :)  This will be a big year for Mike!

Max:  This kid never ceases to amaze me.  His vocabulary trips me out daily.  The other day he was trying to tell me something and was getting tongue tied and frustrated and finally he just signed really big and said, "Oh...I just can't take it anymore!".  He's a crack up.  Yesterday Michelle and I had a few things we needed to get at the store so Max came with us and found a little car he wanted.  Well, he accidently dropped it in the lake and was so upset.  I had to go back to the store for some other things, so Brad and I brought him along so he could try to find a replacement car.  We had to run another errand before going to the store and so he thought we weren't going to find him a car and he was getting upset, so I told him we were on the way to go find him a new car and he goes, "Oooohh YESSSSSS...Oh, Thank you mama!"...he's so animated!  In other news he's doing awesome in his potty training.  This week away from home and our regular routine may be a little set back??  But, I'm really proud of him.  Last Monday (a week ago) I just decided to do away with the pull ups because they are so much like diapers that the potty training seemed to be going no-where.  Since he has to be trained before pre-school starts this fall...I was starting to get nervous.  So, I put him in big boy underwear and had him go potty every few hours and I think he was accident free all day.  Day2 he had a few accidents...but he quickly learned that he doesn't like that feeling of getting wet.  Since then he has had a few accidents here and there, but for the most part...tells us when he has to go potty.  Going poo-poo seemed to still be a challenge until I explained to him that he was going to get his race car (or whatever character he was wearing) on his undies dirty and suddenly he started telling me when he had to go.  I'm really very proud of him! 

Miles:  Now this little dude has been the biggest surprise in personality.  He's always been very mild mannored and sweet, but now as he is starting to expand on his small vocabulary...he's starting to throw some curve balls at us!  He's still a little sweet peanut...but man, the little dude has a temper!  If he gets really upset he lets you know...he'll grab your face or even try to hit you.  It's kind of funny cuz he's so tiny.  Max has always been demanding of our attention and I think Miles is trying to assert his place in the family.  LOL!  Other than that...he's a ham just like his big brother.  Naturally Papa and I think our little guys have a heightened sense of humor, but I really think they do! Ha ha.  Miles loves to dance and loves music or any programs with singing in it.  He just gets mezmorized by them.  Right now his favorite TV program is High Five.  Papa, Uncle Rob and I can't stand the show...but the little guys love it and it usually buys us 20 minutes to get things done around the house or to get dinner going.  Miles' vocab isn't too large yet...but it's ever growing.  The other day he grabbed Max's blanket (go go) and said "Go go"...Max and I just looked at each other like, "wow...he talked!".  It's funny because he knew Max's blanket was "Go go", yet he calls his own special blanket his, "Blankey" (bankie).  Like Max, he likes to make us laugh and does silly things to get us going.  He's just a little charmer!

I could go on...but Max has had about enough of being quiet and Mama being distracted w/ this computer...so off to play with him I go! 

Mike didn't want to come on vaca with us and it would have been to difficult with Miles' schedule to bring him along...so we left them at home with Grandma Donna and Uncle Rob.  I miss my little dude something fierce, but I know he's having fun with Grandma D.  Ok...have to go before Max turns off the computer on me
!!  :)  Who knows...maybe I'll get another post in during our week long vaca???

Friday, June 12, 2009

Happy #3 Maxwell!

Yesterday we celebrated Max's 3rd birthday. 

For many this is another birthday.  Another reason for cake and presents.  Just one of many.

For us...it is much much more.  Because this is the day 3 years ago that a miracle came into our lives.  A dream was fulfilled.  Tears flowed, but for much different reasons.  And a new journey in our lives began.

Our 3 year journey of loss, hope, and desire...became a journey of healing and life.

Thank you RMIA, Dr Stassert & Staff, medical technology, our parents, friends, and family...for supporting us, for encouraging us, and for loving us.

Happy Birthday, my sweet little monkey!!

Thursday, May 14, 2009

May 2009? Really?

I know...I know...I have not been very diligent with my blog postings.  I'm still taking pictures of my favorite subjects...just maybe not 500 per month these days.  Maybe just 300.  LOL!

Life is crazy here.  We are gearing up for our big Lakeville Store's big move at the end of the month.  And juggling the rest of the chaos that is our life.  :)

I supposed kiddo updates are in order!

Mike:

Turns 17 in a matter of a few weeks!  Very close to getting his drivers license!  And going to his Jr Prom tomorrow!  OMG!!  He's really doing amazing in school this year and I think will keep his A in his first community college course this semester!!  I'm so proud of him!




Maxwell:
Turns 3 in a few weeks!!  He continues to be quite the character and is even rubbing off on his little brother!  :)  He's talking up a storm and proving that you have to be careful of what you say in front of an all too smart 2 1/2 year old!  I will have to update some of his favorite phrases soon.  

Miles:

Almost 16 months old and just as sweet as he's always been!  This one surprised us and as his personality is finally starting to emerge...he is quite silly.  Still very much a cuddler and my little love...he is a goofball!  His vocabulary is starting to expand and his starting to mimick us more both in words and actions.  His main words right now seem to be, "Mama, Mmmmoooh (more), Doe (no), Ah dah (all done), Oh!





As for Brad and myself....ugh...no time to bore you.  :)

Happy Spring!!

Friday, April 17, 2009

Spring is here!!

Life is crazy as ever here in the Werth household...but we are managing and look...already getting tan!!

The boys continue to grow like weeds.  Amazing in every way.  Well, cept' for the occassional (and sometimes all too regular) meltdowns.  :)



This week has thankfully been beautiful out and Nanny Grandma Bonnie and Auntie Amy have taken the boys to the park lots.  They LOVE it!  And in return...they come home happy...and DIRTY!  :)

So, we've been putting our bubble baths to plenty of use!


Max likes to go a little over board...  :)




Already I can see his tan line...we'll see if Miles follows suit and tans as easily.  I'm guessing...YES!

Happy Spring everyone!

Friday, April 10, 2009

Happy Easter Everyone!


Brad was outside doing the last of the assemble job for the boys' swingset, so Max and I colored our Easter eggs while Miles was napping.  We'll involve him next year...but he was just a little too little this year and I thought it would take away from Max's enjoyment.  Plus, Max is in this lovely phase of getting to as much trouble as he can when I'm not looking right now.  So, considering there were cups full of wonderful wet colors...I thought it best to give him my 100% FULL attention!  LOL!

Anyways, we had fun and Max had a blast ordering me to give him more eggs and what color he wanted to do next.  :)



I think his favorite part was toward the end when he realized he got some coloring on his hands and he was dirty!  Again...this MUST be a boy thing!  And why exactly are they selective with when and what they like to get dirty with?  Because as much as he likes to make a mess...Goodness watch out if he is in a "mood" and got a crumb of food on his hands while he was eating!   (yes, this is proof he is my kid!)


And lastly...completely un-related to Easter or this post...but here's a GREAT Max'ism that happened this week:

We are standing by the front door and I opened up the blinds on the side windows to our entryway and there were a bunch of red robins outside grazing on the island under one of our trees and Max yells..."Oh Mama, wook (look)...chickens!!  I yike chickens!!  Me eat??!!".  It was probably one of the funniest things that I heard all week.  He was so cute and excited!  LMAO


Saturday, March 21, 2009

Just a few pics of the lil' ones...

Double kisses for Papa!


The boys Jonesin' to get outside and play
Max's OWie (on his noggin').  He was running from Miles and I and looked back to see how close we were to him and BAM hit the wall head first.  Oh man...I thought we'd be making a visit to the ER because the welt started growing before my eyes immediately. OUCH!

We are a very busy busy household...but I'm hoping to catch up really soon...bare with me!

PS-  a VERY Big Thank You to all of you that sent me your birthday love voicemails, cards, ecards, and facebook messages...I really appreciated each and everyone and feel special to be cared for by so many!!  Really...Thank you!

Thursday, March 19, 2009

New Videos of the boys and their latest antics!

Super Max





A little Privacy





To Infinity and Beyond!





Miles Groovin'

Saturday, March 14, 2009

Yes...just call me mama slacker!

Well, not really being a slacker.  I guess quite the opposite...which has left me little time to blog.  I'm still taking pictures of this beautiful family of mine...but just don't get a whole lot of time to play and to have time to post pics and brag on them.  :)

Here are just a few photos from our March.  Lots going on...more soon.

Papa & Maxwell (Max is into wearing Papa's hat around the house these days)


The hat is always worn like this...he's a homeboy.
I made chocolate cookies the other day and here is Miles eating his first cookie.
Well, ya just never know what kind of weather we'll have in March.  THANKFULLY the weather turned nice and we were able to spend a little time outside today!
"What you talkin' 'bout, Mama?!"
Hey, who is that dude following me around anyways?!

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

Max Talk February 2009

I really want to document how the little ones pronounce words, but somehow I forget by the time I sit down to write them down...  Here's a start for Maxwell:

Movie = Moo E
Miles = My yo's
Goldfish Crackers = Shee shees
Grandma = Ga ma
I don't want to go to sleep = I wake up
I don't want to eat right now = I wake up
I don't want to listen to you right now = I tire'd
Oh great = Oh greese
Pretty soon = pre ee soom


And little Miles is a man of little words so far.  He babbles sometimes.

Hi = Hi EEE

otherwise he says Diiiiyyyyye (sounds like a stretched out "Dye" and Mama a lot.  :)

Other than that...he is walking up a storm and getting independant.  OH NO!  As soon as I help him stand back up...he pushes my hand away.  LOL!  Today he figured out how to stand up on his own by pushing up with both arms on the floor.  Prior to that he was not having as much luck with trying to stand up by kneeling and then putting one leg up (like in a catcher's stance) and then trying to stand from that position.  Crazy little guy!

__________________________________________________

On a sad note...an old friend and classmate of mine (both gradeschool and highschool) suffered the loss of her daughter this morning.  The news came as a very sad surprise.  Apparently her daughter was taking antibiotics and had a severe allergic reaction.  She was admitted to the hospital yesterday and this morning her heart stopped and they could not revive her.  I am completely heartbroken for my friend and for her family.  She lost the older of 2 daughters, who was about 6.  I am flying out to Orlando tomorrow to be with my friend and to offer her support, love, and a shoulder to cry on.  Hopefully I can help her with her remaining daughter (age 3) or with some of the tasks of life that must be done...but get ignored during tragedies and grief stricken times like this.  Please keep my dear friend, Sarah, and her family in your thoughts and prayers (if you believe)....

Don't forget to kiss your children.  Kiss them often and relentlessly.  :)

Love, a Mama who kisses her babies daily as much as possible.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Max'isms

This kid...he really is something.  Every day he does something new or makes me laugh even harder than the day before.

Here are some of his Max'isms of late:

We are in the car and the little ones are in the backseat and Miles is babbling away.
Miles, "Ahhh baaa baaa"
Max, "What're talking bout, baby?!"

Lately his vocabulary has really blossomed, yet he will still regress into what I refer to as Korean babble...but he will just talk non-stop for up to 3 minutes.  It's so funny and captivating that I have to stop what I'm doing an watch him because he'll go on and on and have hand gestures and facial expressions.  It's really funny.

Goldfish crackers (his crack of choice) = "shee shees"

He loves cars and about 90% of the time is carrying one around.  Has to have his favorite with him for bed and sometimes wants them in the bath with him.  It's a pain in the butt because I spend so much time looking for his car of choice.  UGH.  It's fun when he finds them though because he gets so excited and will just scream, "I FOUND IT!!!!" and jump up into his "ta dah" stance.

More to follow....

Thursday, January 29, 2009

Miles' 1 year Well Baby Appt

All of Miles' bandaids from his Drs appt.


And yet that smile remains on his face...what a sweetie pie!

Miles' 1 year well baby appointment went well.  He is still a skinny, peanut headed, long boy.  LOL!

Weight:  19pds (6th percentile...omg!)
Height:  30.8"  (86th percentile...big boy!)
HC:  17.5 (8th percentile...giggle giggle)

Dr. H says he looks great and he's developing just as he should be!

Poor little guy had to have 3 shots AND they had to draw blood to ensure that his hep B shots took...and it took 3 attempts.  Ugh.  It was horrible.  I was so close to going into my Angry Asian mode by the time they were done because each time they'd stick him...they'd move the needle around so much to try to find blood.  It's almost like they just stick it in and go fishing.  Rediculous.  The same thing happened with Max, but they got it in the 2nd try with him.  Poor Miles just hollared...and it was so hard for me because he cries so rarely.  I had to help hold him down and I just kissed him and tried to comfort him the best I could and he just looked up at me with those big beautiful eyes all full of tears.  Tore my heart out!  Naturally he's got bruises in both arms from all that pin poking action, but he doesn't seem bothered at all today.  I gave him tylenol yesterday as I'm sure his little arms were tender.

What a little peanut we have though!  He's still a pound under the requirement to switch him to forward facing in his carseat by law.  Goodness.  I told him he needs to get up on the food, so we can switch him like his big bro!  I switched him to whole milk as soon as he hit 1 year and he's doing ok with it.  He prefers it room temperature still, so I started nuking it for a tiny bit....but he's doing pretty good with it in his sippy cups.  Usually he chucks the sippy after a sip when it's right out of the fridge, but after awhile he gulps it right down.

Other than that...he just seems to grow daily with new things.  He isn't saying too many words yet.  He says, "Mama" (naturally! and he knows what it means) and he says "eye" (which is is hi and bye...and he waves) and he'll sometimes try to mimick what your saying.  Usually more by the notation in your voice than the actual word.  He's getting really good at copying what we are doing though.  He loves to giggle....it's so adorable!  It's amazing to see the personalities that emerge from your children.  Every day is new and exciting!

Enough with the Flu already!!!

Maxwell enjoying one of the playstations at our ECFE class.

Max and his buddy (Ben) at the McDonalds playland after class.

Mama and "Moes" at Grandma Bonnie's retirement party

Silly Mosers sitting at the big table

Soooo...the flu has made it's rounds through this house. Brad was sick for almost 2 weeks. Then a few weeks later, Max threw up for almost 48 hours. Miles got sick a few days after that. Then Brad got sick again a few days after that...ugh...and now Mama J is sick. AAARRRRGGGGHHH!

I have been sick all week and can barely stand myself of this sick house anymore!!  I went in for a strep test a few days ago and it came back negative...which actually bummed me out because then I would have at least gotten on antibiotics and seen a light at the end of the tunnel.  Today I couldn't stand it anymore and went to see my Doc and thankfully he felt sorry for this pathetic little Asian mama and wrote me a presciption for antibiotics before I even had to ask or start a crying fit.  LOL!  So, hopefully these antibiotics will kick in quickly and I'll be on the mend.  Papa has been soooo great with taking care of the house and the boys this whole week.  He actually even cleaned out my pantry for me and organized it.  Hmm....maybe I can string this sickness along a little longer??!  ;)

We are going to quarantine the house and disinfect it and then be done with the ickies!!!

Slideshow of Miles' 1st Birthday party


Thanks to everyone for making my 1st Birthday so special!  I had a great time!

(we missed you Grandpa Jim and Grandma Donna...hope you are feeling better!  Can't wait to see you soon!)

Love,
Miles

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Max's Milk Enjoyment

Here's a cute little video of Max enjoying some chocolate milk.  Just briefly shows you this little guy's personality...he's a ham!  Err...an utter.  ;)

Monday, January 19, 2009

Happy Birthday Miles!

Well, you made an interesting entrance into this world a year ago today...but, I guess you knew right away that you were going to have to make your presence stick out w/ that big brother Maxwell as demanding as he is with our attention...

Thank you for blessing our lives, for being my sweet little cuddle "Moes", and for completing our family!

Happy Birthday, sweet little boy!

Here is a little video montage of Miles' first year...the last 3 minutes are the best parts.  :)



And a little picture collage of Miles' 1st experience with a cupcake...he didn't want to touch it at first, so Max gave him the schooling on how to do it.  :)


Love,
Mama J

Oh Brother!

Having fun...
I love ya, man!
Miles with his imaginary phone up to his ear, saying, "Hi"
Oh man...we're busted again.

Lately Max has decided that he's not willing to share anything with Miles.  Not toys, not Mama, not Papa...

But, today he must have got tired of driving me crazy and thought he'd engage with his little brother.  I love it!  I'm looking forward to the days when they are inseparable.  It's so cute how much Miles adores Max and even cuter when Max recipricates!