Thursday, January 29, 2009

Miles' 1 year Well Baby Appt

All of Miles' bandaids from his Drs appt.


And yet that smile remains on his face...what a sweetie pie!

Miles' 1 year well baby appointment went well.  He is still a skinny, peanut headed, long boy.  LOL!

Weight:  19pds (6th percentile...omg!)
Height:  30.8"  (86th percentile...big boy!)
HC:  17.5 (8th percentile...giggle giggle)

Dr. H says he looks great and he's developing just as he should be!

Poor little guy had to have 3 shots AND they had to draw blood to ensure that his hep B shots took...and it took 3 attempts.  Ugh.  It was horrible.  I was so close to going into my Angry Asian mode by the time they were done because each time they'd stick him...they'd move the needle around so much to try to find blood.  It's almost like they just stick it in and go fishing.  Rediculous.  The same thing happened with Max, but they got it in the 2nd try with him.  Poor Miles just hollared...and it was so hard for me because he cries so rarely.  I had to help hold him down and I just kissed him and tried to comfort him the best I could and he just looked up at me with those big beautiful eyes all full of tears.  Tore my heart out!  Naturally he's got bruises in both arms from all that pin poking action, but he doesn't seem bothered at all today.  I gave him tylenol yesterday as I'm sure his little arms were tender.

What a little peanut we have though!  He's still a pound under the requirement to switch him to forward facing in his carseat by law.  Goodness.  I told him he needs to get up on the food, so we can switch him like his big bro!  I switched him to whole milk as soon as he hit 1 year and he's doing ok with it.  He prefers it room temperature still, so I started nuking it for a tiny bit....but he's doing pretty good with it in his sippy cups.  Usually he chucks the sippy after a sip when it's right out of the fridge, but after awhile he gulps it right down.

Other than that...he just seems to grow daily with new things.  He isn't saying too many words yet.  He says, "Mama" (naturally! and he knows what it means) and he says "eye" (which is is hi and bye...and he waves) and he'll sometimes try to mimick what your saying.  Usually more by the notation in your voice than the actual word.  He's getting really good at copying what we are doing though.  He loves to giggle....it's so adorable!  It's amazing to see the personalities that emerge from your children.  Every day is new and exciting!

Enough with the Flu already!!!

Maxwell enjoying one of the playstations at our ECFE class.

Max and his buddy (Ben) at the McDonalds playland after class.

Mama and "Moes" at Grandma Bonnie's retirement party

Silly Mosers sitting at the big table

Soooo...the flu has made it's rounds through this house. Brad was sick for almost 2 weeks. Then a few weeks later, Max threw up for almost 48 hours. Miles got sick a few days after that. Then Brad got sick again a few days after that...ugh...and now Mama J is sick. AAARRRRGGGGHHH!

I have been sick all week and can barely stand myself of this sick house anymore!!  I went in for a strep test a few days ago and it came back negative...which actually bummed me out because then I would have at least gotten on antibiotics and seen a light at the end of the tunnel.  Today I couldn't stand it anymore and went to see my Doc and thankfully he felt sorry for this pathetic little Asian mama and wrote me a presciption for antibiotics before I even had to ask or start a crying fit.  LOL!  So, hopefully these antibiotics will kick in quickly and I'll be on the mend.  Papa has been soooo great with taking care of the house and the boys this whole week.  He actually even cleaned out my pantry for me and organized it.  Hmm....maybe I can string this sickness along a little longer??!  ;)

We are going to quarantine the house and disinfect it and then be done with the ickies!!!

Slideshow of Miles' 1st Birthday party


Thanks to everyone for making my 1st Birthday so special!  I had a great time!

(we missed you Grandpa Jim and Grandma Donna...hope you are feeling better!  Can't wait to see you soon!)

Love,
Miles

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Max's Milk Enjoyment

Here's a cute little video of Max enjoying some chocolate milk.  Just briefly shows you this little guy's personality...he's a ham!  Err...an utter.  ;)

Monday, January 19, 2009

Happy Birthday Miles!

Well, you made an interesting entrance into this world a year ago today...but, I guess you knew right away that you were going to have to make your presence stick out w/ that big brother Maxwell as demanding as he is with our attention...

Thank you for blessing our lives, for being my sweet little cuddle "Moes", and for completing our family!

Happy Birthday, sweet little boy!

Here is a little video montage of Miles' first year...the last 3 minutes are the best parts.  :)



And a little picture collage of Miles' 1st experience with a cupcake...he didn't want to touch it at first, so Max gave him the schooling on how to do it.  :)


Love,
Mama J

Oh Brother!

Having fun...
I love ya, man!
Miles with his imaginary phone up to his ear, saying, "Hi"
Oh man...we're busted again.

Lately Max has decided that he's not willing to share anything with Miles.  Not toys, not Mama, not Papa...

But, today he must have got tired of driving me crazy and thought he'd engage with his little brother.  I love it!  I'm looking forward to the days when they are inseparable.  It's so cute how much Miles adores Max and even cuter when Max recipricates!

Sunday, January 18, 2009

My Silly Maxwell

Max having fun in the snow
Max being silly with Mama



It's hard to capture a smile from Max on camera these days because he runs.  :)  But, every once in awhile it's just the perfect timing.

For whatever reason...Max is the MOST fun for the hour before he goes to bed.  It really makes it difficult to put him down at 6:30...but I know this kid needs his sleep otherwise I pay the next day.  Anyway, last night during that perfect hour before bed time, he was in a silly mood and luckily I had the camera near by.  He actually wanted me to take pictures of him and was making silly faces for me.  He's my little ham!  Enjoy!

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Mama's Biggest Boy!

Michael & the Proud Mama
(at Andy & Kristin's Wedding Reception)
Michael was accepted into the PACE program which is a joint effort through Lakeville South and Inver Hills Community College.  There are several High Schools and Community Colleges in the metro that are participating in this program and he was 1 of 65 students chosen (and 1 of 8 from his school!)!!  He will be taking college courses every Saturday during the school year and Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesdays during the Summer until he graduates.  If all goes well...he will have 15 college credits by the end of his Senior year...and all for FREE!  This program pays for his classes, books, his transportation...and this semester they are even covering his lunches! 
In addition to all of the above...they will be working closely with him to make sure he is doing ok in his classes and will help him prepare for the real transition to college, as well as help him apply and get accepted into the college he ends up choosing.  It's a great opportunity and we are just so proud of him!!
Today was his first class and he really enjoyed it!!  Good job, Mike!!!!

Thursday, January 15, 2009

Happy 2009!!!

Moe enjoying some of Mama's homemade spaghetti!  Yum!
Max at his first Birthday Party!!  Happy Birthday, Madeline!
Miles received 2 packages today for his birthday!  We decided to open them early since he wasn't feeling good today...
This is an outfit Grandma Ellie bought him...very cute...buuuuut, just a tad big.  It's a size 4T...Miles is only turning 1!  :)  (Thanks Grandma Ellie...he'll look so dashing in 3 years...teehee)
I can't put my hands down!!
And the PB Oversized Monogramed Chair from Grandma Donna & Grandpa Jim!!
Yeah!!  My very own...1 more thing to crawl on!
Miles trying to pull off a pose on his new big boy chair!

Oh goodness...

Life has been hectic around these parts! 

Max came down with the crud on Monday and threw up for a little over 24 hours.  Not fun.  He ran out of stuff in his tummy to throw up, so he ended up dry heaving a lot and he would just cry, "I can't do it, mama...no working!"...so sad!  He's still not feeling up to par and eating very little.

Today we woke up to a sick little Miles as well.  His crib was covered in his dinner from last night...which happened to be lasagna.  Looked like World War I in there.  Then he came downstairs...slurped down his bottle and promptly threw that up.  Sigh.  He's such a sweet little guy though....even though he wasn't feeling so great...he still smiled and tried to be his little happy go lucky self.  I'll be so glad when we can take the Quarantine Sign off our door and go out and do something fun!  So will the boys...I think they are getting cabin fever!!

I guess it's time for some updates....let's see what I can remember!

Max:
What a little ham...here are some of his latest antics and Max'isms...
"Hey, Mama...I monkey wrench" and he puckers out his lips when he says wrench.  It's so cute!
Last week in our ECFE class, one of his little friends had on a Cars Movie T-shirt and Max saw it and goes, "Hey, Mama!!!!" and then runs over to the boy and jumped up and landed w/ his feet spread out and his hands out (like in a "ta da" stance) and goes, "RAAAACE CAAAAR MOOOOOIEEE!!" (he doesn't have a "v" in his "moo-ie"...yes, I know how to spell!).  It was so funny...the other mom and I just cracked up!
Tonight when I put him to bed, I was holding him and he had to go down the line of everything he could think of and he'd ask me if they were sick.  Even inanimate objects.  "Papa sick?"..."No, Papa's not sick"..."My-oles sick?"..."No, Miles isn't sick"... "Race car sick?"...."No, race car isn't sick" ..."Camera sick"...No, camera isn't sick"...you get the point.  I think he was stalling! 
Today for lunch, he wasn't eating his food and Papa finally said, "Are you going to eat your lunch, or what?!" and Max replied, "What."...and we both started laughing.  I'm thinking...he is SOOOO my kid...smart @$$ to the core!  Then Brad said, "come on Max...eat a bite" and Max goes, "No...What...what...what!".  He's really too smart for his britches!
I think I need to start carrying a pad of paper and pen around with me because Max does some of the silliest...craziest things.  He totally amazes me!


Miles:
Just in the past week...it seems like he is suddenly looking more like a 1 yr old vs. my little baby.  Makes me sad, but warms my heart as well.  He's soooo close to walking.  I'd guess he'll be walking within the month.  He takes a couple steps and he scales everything all the time.  He can stand for really long periods as well.  Just within the last 2 days I have him saying, "Hi"...well, his version of it anyways.  It sounds more like, "Eye".  But, he opens and closes his fists...so he knows it's a greeting of some sort.  Today I had him saying, "More"...which sounded more like "Mo-ah".  I don't think he knew what it meant but it's just fun to hear him starting to be more vocal.  He's also getting really good at mimicking what we do.  I think he actually winked back at me twice yesterday!  Ok, hell...the kid is a damn genious!!  What can I say!  ;)  It is so hard to believe that almost a year has gone by since that little angel came into the world!  Wow...how blessed am I!