Mama and the little ones trying out the new bed!
Max's new Big boy room with the "Car Mo-ee" theme
Santa brought Max new Car themed bedding for a toddler bed, so we took the plunge and converted his crib to a toddler bed. He was so excited when he saw that he could get in and out of it by himself and just jumped up and down. "I bounceen, mama!"
When we put the Cars bedding on the bed and put up the decorative labels on the wall he kept saying, "oooh, cool! cool!".
I wasn't sure what to expect, but was fairly certain that we'd have an early morning wake up call. Putting him to bed last night (night 1) went a lot better than I had anticipated. He stayed put and protested for about 2 minutes and then fell asleep. AAAaaaand then about 3:45am we woke up to the door opening and Max telling me, "I wake up, mama". Oh nooooo! It took us an hour to get him to stay in his bed and fall back asleep. We tag teamed and just kept putting him back in his bed the minute he got up and opened the door. I was watching him from his video monitor and it was a little comical to watch him trying to walk around his room and find the door and light switch in the dark with his hands reaching out in front of him. After about an hour of the up and down dance...he finally crawled back in bed and fell asleep with the light on. I had it on the lowest setting of his light dimmer. Anyway, he slept until about 6:20 and then ventured back in our room with his "I wake up" announcement again.
I was having lunch with a friend during his nap time, but Brad told me he had to put him back in his bed twice and then he cried for about 15 minutes, but then took an hour and a half nap (lately he only naps for an hour).
We bought him a nightlight today hoping that it might help if he can see a little. I don't want him falling asleep with the light on every night. Even if it's at it's lowest setting. I spent extra time with him tonight and we just cuddled and read a few books and talked in his bed. Thankfully I fit in that little bed with him. LOL! He asked me to hold him for a little bit (which used to be part of our routine when he was in his crib), so picked him up and held him for a little bit and reminded him that once I put him down in his bed he was to stay put and no crying and made sure he said, "ok". Then when it came time...I put him down in his crib and asked him if he wanted his covers on him. He said, "I go o'er here" and walked to the corner of the bed that he used to camp out in when it was his crib and I told him that I loved him and he laid down and said, "night" and I shut the door. I then ran to the monitor to see what he was doing and he was just lying there playing with his McQueen car. No crying...no drama. We'll see what time I hear those famous "I wake up" words from his little voice in the morning.....
No comments:
Post a Comment