Monday, December 29, 2008

Why is day 3 always a slight regression?

Not a big regression...

Max went to bed ok, although he got up after I shut the door and turned on his light (despite the night light) and got back in bed.  I had to wait until I knew for sure he was asleep to turn it off.

He woke up around 1:10 and quietly came in my room.  I put him back in his bed and we did the up and down dance twice and then he gave up...cried standing in his bed for about 30 seconds and then laid down (again after turning on the light).  All in all it was about 15 minutes...but, of course, I couldn't sleep knowing his light was on....so I went in at 2am and turned it off.

The big kicker was when he woke up at 6am and decided that he needed a partner in crime.  So, he went into Miles' room and turned on the light.  That didn't make mama very happy!!  Thankfully Miles fell back asleep (or at least was quiet) until about 7.  I guess since Miles is always smiling at Max...Max figured he'd go and wake someone up who he knew would smile at him and not put him back in his bed!  :)

Today Max figured out how to turn up the dimmer on his bedroom light.  GREAT!  So, for nap time I had to keep going in there and turn off the light when he'd turn it on.  He wasn't trying to get out of his room...but I know he won't sleep as well with the light on full blast and figured it is best to break this habit up front rather than having to deal with it all night every night.  He was pretty ticked off...but fell asleep after about the 5th time.  Ahhh...the joys of being a mama to a kid who is just like her!  Stubborn!  (oh wait...I didn't just admit that, did I??!)

Thankfully...all in all...the transition is going much more smoothly than I had been anticipating.  So far, at least... :)

No comments: