Thursday, January 31, 2008

Miles' "2 week" well baby

The "twins"

Miles getting ready to leave for his 2 week check up



It's so hard to believe that little Miles is already 2 days short of 2 weeks old! And to think he was due this Saturday! Thank goodness for early healthy babies!

Miles' well baby check went perfectly. Max was a little upset when we got there, but as soon as he realized that we were there for Miles and that he wouldn't be poked or prodded...he was busy charming all the nurses and people in the waiting room with his "Hi!"s. What a little flirt!

Here are Miles' stats:

Weight: 7pds 11oz (1oz over his birth weight! 47th %)

Head Circ: 13.5" (22nd %) - another little peanut head!

Other than that...everything is going great! Today was our 1st full day without help from one of the Grands. Grandma Donna left yesterday (Thanks for everything Grandma!) and next week Grandma Bonnie will be coming to help for most of the week!

Gotta run...Miles is hungry! :)

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Got Sleep??



This is what happens when papa's don't get enough sleep at night.

Can't see it? Look closer...

Closer...

Ok, look down at Max's pants. See it now?

I have NO IDEA how he fit both legs in the 1 pant leg without noticing it or Max putting up a fight. As you can see...Max is thrilled. :)

Plumpin' up






Little Miles seemed so skinny to me compared to Max when he was born...but the little guy is plumpin' up nicely already. Today was a big day for him...he lost his umbilical cord pluggy thing (that's a medical technical term, ya know?!). The more he plumps up...the more he looks like Max when he was born.

Here are a few pictures from a little photo shoot we took a few days ago. I'm trying to capture these fleeting moments of a newborn since this is the last time we'll experience the joy of having something so amazingly small in our home.

Never fear...Maxwell is not going without camera time. He cracks us up more and more on a daily basis and completely mesmerizes me with how much he picks up each day. I swear he knows a new word or two and has a new expression daily. He really is such a joy!

Life is good!

Sunday, January 27, 2008

Miles Video

Here is a little video montage of our first 6 days with Miles.

Not quite as entertaining as Maxwell is...but something only a parent or grandparent can appreciate!

Excuse the way I look on the 1st clip...this was taken when I was reunited with Miles after my little redezvous with the OR and before they started my transfusion...so I'm lookin' a little ragged. :)


Max getting his dizzy on

Max gets really silly around 5pm or so...about an hour before bedtime.

This was taken a few nights ago during his loopy silly time.


Friday, January 25, 2008

Got christianed!

Who can resist a toddler butt shot?

Maxwell checking out his little brother!

Baby Miles!



I was kind of wondering when I was going to get "christianed" by this little guy when changing his diaper and he got me good this morning! Who can blame him...those wipes are so cold! I was surprised how much sprayed at me because his diaper was full to begin with...but I guess this just means he's eating well. :)

I can't believe Miles will already be a week old tomorrow. Seriously...where does the time go? I've really enjoyed having Brad off of work this week. He goes back part time next week and the following week he'll be back to full time. It's nice to have his help during the day...and to be able to spend this quality time bonding with the boys. I'll be sad to have him back to the grind, but I know he's got a lot of work piling up for him as well.

I am trying to figure out if Miles has dimples. I think I've seen one on his left cheek (opposite of Max's dimple side) when he nurses, but am not quite sure. I don't think it's as deep as Max's. Miles does have two little dimples on each side of the mouth like I do. Oh, and he has this cute little birthmark on his butt! :)

Max is doing a pretty good job of adjusting to the changes. I was pretty worried that it would be more of a struggle. I'm sure we'll have some challenging days to come...but it's helped to have Brad there to help give him some extra attention. He's been trying to help me with the baby and will get me a diaper for him if we ask. It's really sweet actually. Yesterday he actually got close enough to give Miles 4 kisses through out the day. He leans in and kisses him on the head and says, "Mmmmmm". I've been trying to get it on camera...but you know how that goes!

Other than that...we will be missing little cousin Sarah's 3rd birthday party tomorrow (Sarah and Connor have been sick on and off and we didn't want to expose Miles or Max to any viruses right now) and we'll miss seeing the Wiesweg side of the family...but I'm hoping Mom comes over for a visit before she heads over to the party since we live so close to the Kings. I'm sure she won't be able to resist a little cuddle time w/ her grands! Happy Birthday, Sarah!! Sorry we'll be missing it!

Well, Brad took Max to the MOA to try to run off some energy, Mike had finals the past 2 days and is off today enjoying his Xbox360 and Miles is napping in his swing...so I think I'll go take a little cat nap myself before he wakes and decides he's hungry again!

Wednesday, January 23, 2008

One happy family

Max meets his little brother (and IVF "Twin") in the hospital

We are so blessed!

Mama J & her little miracles!

Mike comes home and meets his newest little brother!


It's hard to believe this is only our 2nd full day home. Things are falling into place nicely and I'm starting to feel like myself a little more each day.

Our 1st night home was a little rough. Papa and I got about 1 1/2 - 2 hours each that night as little Miles was trying to make sure we knew he was boss. :) Actually he had his circ done the morning we were admitted and that kind of messed him up as the anesthetics made him really sleepy and he slept most of the day and didn't nurse much...so that night he was trying to make up for lost time.

Having a rough night leads to a rough following day. Two parents with little sleep and little patience...and a toddler who is ready to go go go and a newborn who needs a lot of attention. Wow...it's a lot of work! But worth it! And thankfully Grandma Donna extended her stay and helped us out another day! Grandma came and stayed with Max while we were in the hospital and they got to enjoy some wonderful 1 on 1 time. THANK YOU Gma Donna!!!

Thankfully Papa and I both got a little more sleep last night and today was much better. I even spent my 1st few hours alone w/ both the little ones as Brad had an emergency at the store and had to leave us for a few hours.

Max seems to be growing more interested in his little brother. He always wants to know where he is and is very interested in why he's crying or when I change his diaper (man, I forgot how much these little guys poop!!). Yesterday he tried to share his goldfish crackers with Miles and today he came over and patted him on the head and said, "head".

All in all...we are happy to be home and trying to get into a routine!

And, um...if you think I took a lot of pictures before. WATCH OUT! Good thing my new camera holds 500 pics on my memory card! :)

Monday, January 21, 2008

Book Ends - Miles' Big Arrival!!













Well, our fertility journey started and ended the same way...with just a little drama. Perfect book ends.

Ok, so before I go any further...let me please put a "proceed with caution" in here. I know that many of my beloved fellow bloggers and friends are expecting...so I will place a "caution" notice in front of any parts that you should overlook. Please enjoy your special time and look forward to the magical experience of child birth. No need to hear yet another labor story!

So, here is the story of how our beautiful Miles John arrived to bless and complete our family...

January 19th (38wks), 2008

We arrived at the hospital at around 8:30am or so and Dr J arrived aroun 9:15am and had me admitted. I was 3-4cm, 75% effaced, and -1 station. She broke my water right away.


9:25am - They started the IV of Pitocen

10:55am - I got my epidural...and let me say, JUST IN TIME! It was heaven!

11:25am - 4-5cm, almost 100% effaced, and 0 station

12:30pm - Started feeling low pressure

1:00pm - 6'ish cm

1:20pm - 7-8cm (Dr thought about another 1/2 hour to be fully dilated)

1:40pm - I asked the Dr to check me because of the low pressure...10cm!

1:45pm'ish - Started pushing

4 -5 contractions later....

2:01pm - Introducing Miles John into the world!
7pds 10oz
20inches

Naturally Brad and I were busy admiring our sweet newborn and the proud papa was taking pictures.

(Here's where the caution comes into play)

For some reason my placenta was being slower than normal to deliver....but we did it and everything looked fine. At first. Then comes the part that Brad refers to as "controlled panic".

Dr J and the nurses started to work very fast and looked concerned. Dr J explained to me that I was bleeding heavier than she'd like, so they were giving me shots to stop the bleeding. Those didn't work.

Within 10 minutes of delivering Miles, I was being rushed into the maternity OR so they could try to figure out why the bleeding was happening and get it to quit. I, at this point, was feeling quite light headed and even heard them calling for a hemmorage kit...but was not too concerned.

...Until we got into the OR and people started rushing around me with flushed faces, hair that was down was now pulled back into pony tails, and my Dr had called in another Dr to assist. The last thing I remember was the anesthesiologist telling the Dr he was going to put me under.

When I woke up I was coughing, my throat really hurt, and I was laboring to breathe. The anesthesiologist was explaining my throat hurt because of the intebation tube and then my Dr came in and told me they were going to start a blood transfusion (2 bags) as I had lost a lot of blood and they needed to get my hemoglobin back up. She explained that I had what is called a Post Partum Hemmorage and that for some reason my uterus did not start contracting after delivery which is why they could not get the bleeding to stop. While they were in the OR the drugs they gave me finally kicked in and the bleeding finally slowed.

Brad later told me that Dr J told him that I lost about 3 pints of blood in the delivery room...before we even got into the OR, thus the concern and rush to the OR.

So much for the easy, quick, textbook delivery. Um, did I mention that my insurance doesn't cover L&D? This we knew about...and I have been somewhat concerned about the bill...but figured it wouldn't be too outrageous. Ya. Ah ha. (Mmmm...doesn't a real fruit juice smoothie sound good right now? I know of a place that sells AWESOME ones and the service is great...go buy 1...or 2...or 10! LOL!) Well, I guess the important part is that Miles is perfect and healthy and I'm recovering and doing great. My hemoglobin is still low, but I'm home and enjoying life with my boys! (Brad's cooking me a steak right now...high in iron you know!)

Ok, so now for the fun stuff...Miles

He is absolutely amazing. And to think that this wonderful child was on ice (Frozen embryo) for 19 months just enforces what a miracle he is.

Because I labored and delivered so quickly, he had some bruising of the face...but already he looks so much better. He's got a FULL head of DARK hair and looks so much like Max did when he was born. We really are so happy and despite a slightly scary beginning...my reunion with him (around 5:30pm that night) was so fulfilling. Brad and I are just full of pride and joy to have our little Miles home, in our arms, and completing our clan!

Again, we wanted to thank everyone for their love and support and all of the well wishes leading up to his birth! A very special THANK YOU to my wonderful OB (Dr Jacob) and the great staff at Abbott Northwestern Hospital! Everyone was so wonderful to us! Last but not least...to the amazing Dr Stassart and the RMIA family...words will never be enough to tell you how thankful I am for your kindness, perseverance, and medical wisdom! You have fulfilled our dreams and made miracles happen!

Well, you know if wouldn't be a J post without an attempt at humor...so here's my funny story.

Here's me...getting ready to go the hospital and trying to curl my hair while having contractions...and Brad's all, "Um...why are you even bothering to do that??" (leave it to a guy to ask that...all the mama's out there will understand this!) and I told him, "I don't want my son to come into the world to an ugly mother!". Tee hee...I know...only me. Anyways...ya, after the trip to the OR...let's just say that I wasn't exactly looking my best. I can't tell you how many "Wow, you REALLY look so much better today or now!" I heard from about 20 different people over the past 2 days. Nice. :)

Anyway...never fear...plenty of pictures to come. I've got about 120 pictures from the hospital to upload later. The pictures above were taken today from a photography team at the hospital. We were suckers and bought the package...I figure...what's another $100 tacked on to our bill, right?! :)

Love,
A thankful Mama J

Friday, January 18, 2008

Having a baby TOMORROW???!!

Um...I don't think it's actually set in.

I've been busy cleaning and trying to get last minute things together...spending time w/ Max...getting last minute store details worked out and it just hasn't sunk in that we will be welcoming our latest and last miracle to the world tomorrow.

I mean...if I'm being honest...it hasn't even sunk in that our FET actually worked and that we were ever really pregnant for 38wks. Holding our newborn tomorrow seems totally unreal.

I've still got to finish packing my hospital bag, but other than that...what's left to do can be done when we get home.

We should be at the hospital by 8am or so tomorrow and Dr J makes her rounds between 8-10am...she'll break my water then and off we go!

Anyways...I just wanted to take a moment to THANK all of my labor stalkers and all of you who check our blog regularly to see how we are doing! Your support, love, and encouragement over the course of the past 4-5 years has been unmeasurable and appreciated beyond words! Know that each of you have made a special impact in my life and I truly thank you!

Our journey to grow our family has been a beautiful one. Though we miss our 5 little angels and though we shed many tears and had many dark days...we've met some amazing people through the process, received so much support and love, and really learned to appreciate life and the beginning of life. I'm so thankful for the life circumstances and people that made it possible to make our dreams come true and to bring our amazing little miracles into this world. I know that Miles will be a wonderful completion to our journey...and family!

Ok...enough emo talk from this pregnant lady... :)

Thursday, January 17, 2008

There is an end in sight!

OB appointment went well!

I am 2-3cm.

Weighed in at 125...total gain of 123. I think I actually lost a few pounds as I had gained a few too many during the holidays. Dr J thought it was mostly water weight though.

Our "wink wink" induction for this weekend was discussed and finalized...so if Miles doesn't show up on his own before then...we'll go in Saturday morning to get the party started. So if all goes well...he'll finally be entering our lives on January 19th (38wks)!

Ironically I've been having lots of contractions today. Dr J said these are more "labor" type contractions as they've been both in the front and back (vs. primarily in the lower back).

No other updates to report...look for baby news this weekend!!

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Gotta wear shades...

Hey dude, it's hip to be cool! Keep up! :)

We'll do lunch...have your people call my people!

Mama's little goofball!


Well, despite the fact that our little Miles is giving me a run for the money...Max continues to crack me up on a daily basis. The personality and new words that flow from this kid never cease to amaze me! And as uncomfortable and tired as I am now...I really am enjoying our last few days as a duo together.

His latest and most often use of vocabulary lately are:

Choo choo (trains), Ki-eeee (kitty), Oooh caaars (cars), coo coo (Blues Clues), ufff uffff (woof woof - doggy), on (on or off), sishy (fishy for goldfish crackers...his current fav snack)

And just some funny other words he says:

noonle (noodles), um kay (ok)...this is my favorite thing he says (besides "mama", of course) because he says this insted of "yes" and it's especially adorable when he's upset and we are trying to redirect his attention to something else and we'll ask him something and he'll say, "um kaaaay" with the lingering oooh woooes me tune to it. It's hysterical! Hmmm...I know there is more, but now I can't think.

My next OB appt is tomorrow...updates then!

Monday, January 14, 2008

Miles is playing Peek-a-boo

Mama thought this picture was funny because she scruffed up my hair and made me look like pig pen!

Now, where'd I get these ears of mine??

Once again I am dealing w/ a little rascal who isn't sure when he wants to come out and is getting really good at playing peek a boo!

I really wouldn't mind the persistent contractions...if they were actually making progress happen, but they aren't. Ugh.

Miles...we love you...but please be nice to your mama! You'll have plenty of years on the outside to make like interesting for me! :)

Thursday, January 10, 2008

OB Appt update - 36wks 5dys

The latest and greatest update on Miles' arrival is....

Nothing to report. Cervix is still at just under 2cm and I'm cramping w/ lower backaches and contractions on and off.

I did test positive with Group Strep B...which is new for me. I didn't test positive w/ Mike or Max. Anyways, it's a bacterial infection that won't cause me any harm, but could potentially be passed on to the baby during delivery which they will want to avoid, so they'll put me on IV anti-biotics as soon as I am admitted to the hospital. I guess 30% of all pregnancies test positive for this. Dr J is not concerned at all...she just said once I go into labor I will want to go to the hospital sooner than later to get the IV started right away.

Other than that...just trying to get last minute preparations done before the unknown big day...and enjoying the last fleeting days of 1 on 1 with Max. Now that he is feeling better...he's been so much fun to be around. Today he was in such a silly mood and I soaked in lots of that adorable dimple and those big teethies of his! What a ham he can be...and a trouble maker too! He seems to think being naughty is entertainment for me...but when he flashes that smile...it is! He knows me too well!

My next appointment is next Thursday. Hopefully we'll be meeting Miles next weekend...if not before! :)

Tuesday, January 8, 2008

Ahhhh...Ambien!

Max and Mama in the bath


Well, it looks like our little Miles is taking after his "twin" and putting me through labor limbo again.

I'd imagine this is his thought process... "Hmmm...mama seems to be preoccupied w/ my older brother today...think I'll stir something up and start some contractions. I need to make sure she remembers me at least every 10 minutes or so." "Ok, that seems to have worked and she is definitely thinking of me now, but all that work has made me tired...think I'll take a break. I can start back again later.". What a little stinker!

Anyways, yesterday we made a little trip to my OB's office just to make sure everything was ok as I had been contracting for close to 20 hours at that point. As thought...no real cervical change. I'm almost 2cm. But, she did say that I need sleep (I only slept about 3 hours the night before), so she prescibed me some Ambien to help. She said with me being sick and uncomfortable...I probably wasn't sleeping well enough and that will only create more contractions. Well, let me just tell you...Ambien is WONDERFUL! :)

We got home, ate dinner, and Brad made me take 1/2 a pill at around 6pm. By 6:10...I was goofy loopy and he dragged me to bed. I was OUT! I'm looking forward to my pill tonight already. LOL!

I'm still contracting today...but with no regularity, so I guess a good nights sleep was a great idea! Updates will be forth coming, but look for a delivery notice the weekend of the 19th if not before!! Dr J's on call that weekend and we'll make it happen if Miles doesn't before then. Ahhhh...a light at the end of the tunnel!

Monday, January 7, 2008

Finally returning to healthy Max!



We are finally seeing a resemblance of the healthy happy little boy we knew before he got sick over the holidays! He still has occassional coughing fits at night, but much less and his appetite was much better today (though not back to normal).

Binkie and Blanky have now returned to their normal spots in his crib during the day and he seems to be ok with that. In fact...he pretty much chucks them in his crib when I go to get him out after sleep times. Funny kid.

Anyways, we are so happy to see him finally on the mend and happy again. What a miserable couple weeks it was to see him so lethargic and feeling so pourly. All these fun new toys that were going un-played with...how sad!

Friday, January 4, 2008

OB Appt update - 35wks 5dys

I got lucky yesterday and Brad decided to go along with me to my OB appointment because I was feeling pretty icky, but since Max was still napping when it was time to leave...he stayed home with Max so we didn't have to wake him (which ultimately was really good because he napped for 4 hours and didn't wake until 3pm!).

Being sick...I slept horribly the night before and therefore was not well rested and cramping and having lots of contractions, so it was good that I didn't have to take Max. My OB's office is in Edina and the building and parking lot is under construction, so it's more of a hassle to get in and out of there.

Anyways, Dr J gave pity on me when she walked in and realized how sick I am. She gave me a prescription of antibiotics to help recovery along. She said since the baby has taken over so much space...my lung capacity is not what it normally is and it is that much easier to develop pnemonia or bronchitis with a cough, so she didn't want to chance that happening. She also said to take whatever I could that helps w/ the coughing and congestion since I'm so far along and need to be well when it's time to delivery this baby.

I am 1...almost 2cm dilated, so she said my body is doing something. She said the cramping and lower back pain could be Miles moving down and the contractions could be things progressing or it could also be from being sick and not resting/sleeping well. Either way, she said if the baby were to come now...he'd be ok. I had her check and Miles measured 4pds 6oz at our ultrasound on 12/17 (which was in the 35th percentile) which she said was tracking right along w/ Max's size. She said the hospitals do not like them to schedule inductions until we reach 38.5wks, but that she is on call on the weekend of Jan 19th, so we could possibly be sneaky if I was having contractions at all.

Brad is hoping that Miles will hang out until we hit 37wks (next Saturday) and has made it very clear that I'm not to be lifting ANYTHING from now on. Hmmm...this should be interesting. Anyways, my gut is that we'll end up having him the weekend of the 19th, but we'll see. I've started pulling infant stuff out and washing it (as most have to hang dry) and need to put together my hospital bag, write out my L&D plan and my post delivery plans...among other small things. My appointments are weekly now...so we'll see how next weeks appt goes.

Meanwhile...Max is still trying to fully recover and every day is interesting. He's definitely doing better since starting the neb treatments, but I just wish I could snap my fingers and have him completely healthy again. He's taking another good nap today...which is good!

Anyways...no need for anyone to panic or get too excited...Miles is staying put for now. We'll keep updates as things progress! :)

Wednesday, January 2, 2008

Another Van Gogh in the making??



Despite the fact that Max only napped for a 1/2 hour today...he was much more like the little sweetheart that he normally is! He refused to eat much until I got smart and popped a bag of popcorn this afternoon and he just gobbled that up. That gave him some energy and he was ready to run and play.

In fact, I took him down the basement and Brad was on a conference call and Max was being so silly and having so much fun...I was trying my hardest to keep him quiet! Go figure! Actually he even chucked his binkie and blankie down on the floor before we went down the basement, so that's a really good sign. He didn't even think about them again until he got tired later on.

Here is one of his latest artistic master pieces that he drew this evening. I'm really digging the new Crayola mess free markers that only work on special paper. It's a tad expensive...but worth not having to chase after him w/ a crayon or marker in hand! Mike thought they were pretty cool and added the little happy face in the corner. :) Max thinks he's a pretty big boy to be using markers already and really gets a kick out of putting the cap back on them.

Anyways...today was a step in the right direction and I'm hoping tomorrow will be even better.

Dare I say the word "Recovery"??!

I think little Maxwell is on the mend. So far no temperature today and he's much more active. He's still not eating like he should be...but I'm sure his appetite will return slowly but surely.

Since he's feeling better, he is not so docile...so during his morning treatment he was checking out the fish mask on his neb and checking things out. He's doing pretty good with the treatments. Each one lasts about 15 minutes, so it's a long time to sit still. He fusses a little here and there, but pretty much stays put and puts up with it. Hopefully as he continues (knock on wood) to recover...he'll sit still for the full 15 minutes.

As for the rest of the family...Brad and I still feel icky and I'm blowing green...so sinus infection for me. Actually Max is as well. Fun times. Mike seems to be keeping the ickys at bay so far...so hopefully he'll be the lucky one. He doesn't get sick very often...and he returns to school tomorrow, so I think he's in the safe zone...we shall see.
Well, 30 minutes into Max's nap and he's already crying for me...maybe a poopie inturruption...those are so fun!
My next OB appointment is tomorrow afternoon. Brad's pretty busy, so I think I have to take Max with me. This should be interesting as I'm sure I'll have an internal check to see if I've started dialating at all. Being that he's been to the Dr's so much the past week...he will surely think he is being examined and won't be too thrilled with it. Ok...gotta run!

Tuesday, January 1, 2008

In other news...

Getting organized in the basement


Max was spoiled rotten (no surprise to us at all!) this holiday and after seeing the chaos the additional toys created...Brad finally conceeded to getting a shelving system for down the basement to try to organize the toys and clutter. I am soooo happy with the way things turned out and the basement is actually an area that I enjoy spending time now. Prior to the small upgrades & furniture changes we've made recently...the area was not very inviting and just so cluttery that it drove me nuts to go down there. Now most things have a place and it's very warm and comfy down there. Plus there are some baskets that are empty, so we'll have more room to add toys or infant stuff when Miles arrives.

Between the new shelving in the basement and reorganizing the toys and moving them to my office...things are much less cluttered in the greatroom and oddly enough...Max figured out very quickly which toys are in which bins so he'll point to what he wants if he can't reach them himself.

Mike is going to help me take down the holiday decor tonight and then I'm going to start pulling the infant gear out of storage and setting it up. I also need to pack my hospital bag so it's ready when we need it. It's crazy to think that we are less than 2 weeks away from being considered term and less than 4 weeks from a 39wk induction!

Well, Max is napping again and the boys are downstairs playing Halo3 again, so I think I'll go lie down for a bit and rest while I can!

Happy 2008 everyone!! May this year be good to you all!

Nebulizer

Max's 1st Neb treatment at home


Well, after a week of being sick and 2 trips to the Ped's office...yesterday we were sent home with a nebulizer and a prescription of Albuterol. We are to give monkey 3 treatments per day and 1 in the middle of the night if he needs it. He usually has coughing attacks when he's sleeping, but not enough to make him cry to get up, so I don't think we'll need to do the night-time treatment.

I know plenty of mom's who have had to go down this route, but it's still scary and upsetting to see your little one have to go to this extreme. I think the Dr was more proactive than the typical situation since Brad has a history of childhood asthema. She stressed (after we showed concern) that this is not a diagnosis of asthema, but only to make sure we nip this bronchial/respitory viral infection in the bud now.

That being said...and the fact that both Brad and I have seemed to have caught a version of Max's ickys...we spent our New Years Eve at home in our jammies. We had plans to bring in the new year with our good friends, Tom & Michelle (& friends), but what can you do. Max went to bed at 5:30 and I watched Brad and Mike play Halo3 on Xbox360. Good times.

On a positive note...Max seems to be doing better today. He's not nearly has fussy as he's been this past week. The treatment must make his sleepy because he's wanted to sleep after both treatments today and naps for the past week have been minimal to none. The Dr said we should definitely see much improvement after a 5 day round of treatments...and I think we are already seeing some from the little guy. Cutting off the binkie and blankie during the day is going to be a party as he's gotten used to having them all day since he's been sick and miserable and seemed to find some comfort from those items. Hopefully it won't be as bad as I think once he's feeling like himself again.

EDIT 6:30pm: Monkey slept from 2:30 until 5pm, woke up with a temperature of 100.2° and was obviously very tired and feeling icky...so I gave him his treatment and he went back to bed by 6pm. Poor little guy. I love when he's so cuddly and wants to be held and snuggle...but hate to see him feeling so poorly. Hopefully a good nights rest will give him some energy to move forward in recovery tomorrow.