Mama's little cookie
Well, our week so far has been joyful, tiring, stressful, fun, entertaining, tiring, silly, tiring, and challenging...oh, and did I say tiring?? :)
Maxwell is going through a testing phase...which probably normally wouldn't be so difficult to deal with...but when you are running on little sleep...his tests can drive a mama crazy! And the little stinker knows when he's trying to get a rise from me because he gives me this silly grin and just goes for it (whatever it is at the time). He's probably doing whatever necessary to make sure he gets our full attention...but what a little stinker he can be!! But, in the same breath he is so dang cute and funny...he just cracks me up! I want to get angry with him but that little dimple makes me melt! Brad took him grocery shopping this evening (I had tried to go with Miles when Max was napping and he started screaming for food about a minute after we got there, so that was a disaster and we left in a hurry) and while waiting in line to pay for the groceries he caught sight of a phone and screamed, "CALL CALL"at the top of his lungs. He's done this to me before when we were waiting for Mike to get his hair cut about a month ago. He's a nut and completely obsessed with phones (he calls them "call call"s).
As far as being naughty...I tried to count the "count to 10" approach one time last week when he wasn't listening and this is how it went:
Me: "Max, bring that over to me right now"
Max: big smile
Me: "Ok, I'm going to count to 10 and you'd better bring it back to me"
Me: "Onnneeee..."
Max: "Twwwwooo..."
It was all I could do not to laugh. He's really too young to even understand the whole concept, but I thought I'd give it a whirl. It backfired...but made for a funny story.
As for Miles...we had an advertising meeting at the store today and then we tried to run a few errands, but as you see from above...that ended quickly. I had an elderly women (who meant well) come up as he was screaming and she proceeded to try to touch him and put his binkie back in his mouth. Anyone who knows me well can only smile trying to imagine me trying to be cordial but wanting this woman to get her nasty grubby hands off my baby!!! Blech.
Anyways, he is in this fun pattern of thinking he needs to nurse whenever he is awake...as if every 2-3 hours isn't enough. So it makes for a fun time when he's emptied out the food supply. Thankfully today was much better and he actually went 3 hour stretches most of the day and was alert a few times withought demanding food. It was so nice to be able to talk and cuddle with him without him hollaring for the boobie! I've nicknamed him "Cookie" or "Cookie monster" because he becomes so ravenous when it comes to eating. It just reminds me of how crazy cookie monster got when he got a cookie. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment